Thursday, November 15, 2012

Mets pitcher wins Cy Young for NL - first since Gooden

The Baseball Writers' Association of America have named R.A. Dickey of the NY Mets the NL Cy Young Award winner for 2012. You have to go back to 1985 to find the next Mets pitcher who won this award, Dwight Gooden.

Dickey has certainly earned his Cy Young at 38 years old, and pitching in his 10th year in the Majors. He finished up the 2012 season at 20-6 and enjoyed a 4.76 average run support by the Mets during all of his starts.

David Price won the AL Cy Young Award for the 2012 season.

The Baseball Writers' Association of America votes for the NL and AL MVP's today, we'll find out later who wins that award.

No comments:

Post a Comment