Tuesday, October 04, 2011

Phillies now in a best of 3 game series

Rollins says what a lot of people at home watching knew, the fans were too quiet at Game 2 in the NLDS

The Phillies failed to take advantage of their home field advantage. The team lost Game 2 of the NLDS at home and now the series shifts to St. Louis, where the series now becomes a best of 3 series. Many fans at home commented how quiet the fans were at Game 2 of the NLDS, perhaps the stadium wasn't filled with the die-hard fans but newer fans who didn't know how important it was to keep the volume high for the home team.

The difference in this series now is the Cardinals have 2 of the 3 possible games in this series at home.  The Phils did take 2 of 3 from the Cards in St. Louis this year during the regular season.

The weather in St. Louis will be nice and warm with the temperature reaching 80 degrees and sunny for the 5 PM EST start today. It’s quite a change from the chilly first two games of the series in Philadelphia.

Cole Hamels gets the start today for the Phillies, he hopes to do better than Cliff Lee who gave up 12 hits in the game on Sunday night in Philly. Before that game from Lee, Cliff was flawless going 3-0 in NLDS games with a 1.11 ERA during 4 starts.

In the NLDS games that he has pitched, Hamels is 2-2 with a 2.20 ERA. Cole’s last NLDS start was in 2010 vs. the Cincinnati Reds and he got the win with 9 SO and pitching a complete game by a score of 1-0.

This game later this afternoon is crucial for the Phillies to win, they don’t want to be down 2-1 in this series with 2 games to play. We’ll see if the team can come up with some winning hits in St. Louis.

Press notes of note:

Phillies 5:
Entering tonight’s game, Ryan Howard (1B), Jimmy Rollins (SS), Carlos Ruiz (C), Chase Utley (2B) and Shane Victorino (RF/CF) have started 41 consecutive postseason games together for the Phillies (26-15 record) … According to the Elias Sports Bureau, it is the longest such streak of consecutive starts for one team by five players in MLB history ... The streak began on October 6, 2007 in Game 3 of the NLDS at Coors Field.

No comments:

Post a Comment