Monday, January 31, 2011

Philly Sports Writers dinner ushers out January 2011

The annual sports writers dinner was held in Cherry Hill, New Jersey tonight. The banquet featured many prominent Phillies players and coaches. This year the dinner banquet was held on the last day of January 2011.

Phillies manager, Charlie Manuel, and GM, Ruben Amaro anchored the Phillies management representation at the event which is one of the oldest of it's kind in America. The foundation banquet started in 1904, and it's a rare opportunity for even fans to take part in a dinner with their favorite local sports stars. The event is open to the public, though it is mostly attended by members of the media.

Roy Halladay, receives the 'Athlete Of The Year Award', he appeared with Shane Victorino, who was there promoting his foundation called the Shane Victorino Foundation, which helps underprivileged youngsters in Hawaii and Philadelphia.

Here's the lineup of awards from the PSW's website:

* Roy ‘Doc’ Halladay, Phillies ace and National League Cy Young Award-winner, gets the Pro Athlete of the Year Award!
* Team of the Year goes to the Philadelphia Flyers
* Shane Victorino, the popular ‘Flyin’ Hawaiian’ and star centerfielder for the Phillies, is our Humanitarian Award-winner
* The Native Son Award will go to soccer star Bobby Convey who went on to World Cup and Major League Soccer stardom after his days at Penn Charter
* Bill Bergey, the standout middle linebacker of Dick Vermeil’s Eagles teams, will take home the Living Legend Award
* Elton Brand, of the 76ers, gets the 2011 Good Guy Award
* Sheila Reid, who led the Villanova to the NCAA Division I Women’s Cross County Title, is Amateur Athlete of the Year. Reid also won the Honda Award for the Top Female Athlete in Cross County.
* Other honorees include: Ian Laperriere, Flyers; Herb Magee, Philadelphia University; Al Bagnoli, Penn football; Fran Dunphy, Temple Basketball; Jack Childs, Drexel werstling; Matt Hoffman, Rowan football; Wyatt Middleton, Navy football; Charlie Manuel and Ruben Amaro, Phillies.
The banquet is always a highlight for local sports fans, and this year promises to be yet another awesome evening.

  Here is some of the history of the event also from the PSWA website:

“It all began back on May 12, 1904 when a group of 43 writers got together in the Majestic Hotel, reportedly to talk about improving working conditions at the area sporting events. At some point in the session, one of the members raised a half-filled stein and suggested the writers hold a party to honor the top sports performers from the previous season.
“‘I’ll drink to that,’ a colleague shouted, and before long the idea developed into a plan. The sports writers of the Philadelphia area and their ‘most loyal fans in the country’ have been drinking together ever since.”
After the first PSWA dinner, in 1904, “A headline in the Public Ledger the next morning read: ‘The Sporting Writers Entertained and Their Guests Are Filled With Hot Air and Other Things.”
“This was a big event in the era of the horse and buggy, unpaved roads and just 45 states. It was two years before the invention of the radio tube and almost a half century before television. Newspapers were king.”
“When the writers’ association began in 1904, baseball was king, boxing was second best. Football was struggling to prove it wasn’t a ‘game for fools’ and basketball wasn’t even in the picture.
“there were 10 daily newspapers in Philadelphia in 1903, selling for a penny a copy. Competition was stiff.”
Over the years, some of our illustrious honorees included:
Connie Mack, Rube Waddell, Mickey Cochrane, Tris Speaker, Ty Cobb, Lefty Grove, Chuck Klein, Joe Louis and Jimmie Fox.
Knute Rockne, Jesse Owens, Eddie Arcaro, Joe DiMaggio, Robert “Tiny” Maxwell and John Heisman.
Babe Ruth.
‘Babe’ Didrikson Zaharias, Billie Jean King, Cathy Rush and Theresa Shenk Grentz.
Boby Clarke, John Cappelletti, Howard Cosell, Jersey Joe Walcott, Rocky Marciano, Floyd Patterson, Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, George Foreman, Evander Holyfield, and Bernard Hopkins.
Bob Hope.
Walter Johnson, Grover Cleveland Alexander, Steve Carlton, Mike Schmidt, Robin Roberts, Kenesaw Mountain Landis, Happy Chandler, Ford Frick, Branch Rickey and Pete Rose.
Joe Paterno, Greasy Neale, Sid Gillman, Buck Shaw, Steve Van Buren, Jimmy Brown, Johnny Unitas, Norm Van Brocklin and Chuck Bednarik.
Jim Thorpe, OJ Simpson, Hershel Walker, and Otto Graham.
Wilt Chamberlain, Tom Gola, Bill Russell, Paul Arizin, Red Auerbach, Larry Brown, lou Carnesecca, John Chanely, Chuck Daly, Julius Erving, Hal Greer, Harry Litwack, Jack Ramsay, Dolph Schayes and Bill Walton.
Marty Liquori, Carl Lewis, Bobby Clarke, Gordie Howe, Bobby Hull, Bobby Orr, Julie Kronse, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Tug McGraw, Harry Kalas and Richie Ashburn.
Mickey Mantle, Dizzy Dean, Monte Stratton, Pete Gray, Jim Piersall, and Jim Abbott.


No comments:

Post a Comment